International Cricket Council, ICC is an international governing body made for cricket. Founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by Australian, South African and England representatives, the organization was renamed in 1965 as International Cricket conference and was again given the name of ICC in 1989.

The council has 101 members, amongst whom 10 are full members who play official test matches, 33 are associate members and 58 are affiliate members. ICC is solely responsible for organizing major international cricket tournaments like World Cup. It also appoints referees and umpires who participate in Test matches that are sanctioned by ICC like 20-20 and ODIs.

ICC follows the code of conduct made on the professional standards of discipline of all international crickets, and work against match fixing or any type of corruption through Anti Corruption and Security Unit. The acting president of ICC is Ray Mali.

In the initial years when Imperial Cricket Conference was made, the membership of the organization was confined only to governing bodies in the Empire of British. India, West Indies and New Zealand were the three countries that were elected as full members. Due to apartheid, South Africa gave up the membership of ICC in 1961. Sri Lanka was also admitted as the full member of the ICC in 1981. In the year 1991, after the end of apartheid, South Africa was again elected as full member and this was followed by the inclusion of Zimbabwe in 1992.

ICC has three membership classes:

Full Members - These are ten governing bodies of team, which play official test matches.

Associate Members – 33 governing bodies from countries where cricket is well organized, but only this basis can not qualify them for full membership.

Affiliate Members – 58 governing bodies in countries where ICC thinks that the game of cricket is played according to laws.